Karnataka Tourism

Department of Tourism

The Department of Tourism, set up in 1974, focuses on implementing the Tourism Department’s decisions and undertaking overseas/ domestic promotion and publicity. It has 19 district offices and 8 tourist offices. It aggressively promotes the State, and its sustained marketing promotions and campaigns have finally made the world sit up and take notice of the ‘Many Worlds’ that make up this vibrant state.

There are 3 government undertakings functioning under the Department of Tourism, namely Karnataka State Tourism Development Corporation (KSTDC), Jungle Lodges and Resorts (JLR) and Karnataka Exhibition Authority, Mysore.

The Tourism Department, Government of Karnataka, plays an active role and acts as a catalyst in placing Karnataka on the list of must-visit places in India through several policy formulation measures that cover Infrastructure development at tourism destinations, Skill development for better employment opportunities, Mega Circuit Development and Last mile connectivity. It also provides fiscal incentives that come from policy formulation like providing subsidies etc.

© 2019 Karnataka Tourism. All Rights Reserved.